SEC Coaches Name 6 Mizzou Football Players to All-SEC Teams

The Southeastern Conference released the 2014 Coaches All-SEC Teams on December 9, and they were full of Mizzou Made stars.

Defensive end Shane Ray and running back/return specialist Marcus Murphy were named First-Team All-SEC.

Ray was an absolute menace this season, racking up 14 sacks, 21 tackles for loss, and 61 total tackles. On December 8, Ray was named SEC Defensive Player of the Year by the Associated Press.

Murphy was key to the Tigers’ scoring efforts all season long. He posted four rushing touchdowns, two kickoff return touchdowns, one punt return touchdown, and one receiving touchdown. His average of 131.9 all-purpose yards per game ranked second in the SEC this season.

Four players were also named to the conference’s second team: defensive end Markus Golden, wide receiver Bud Sasser, safety Braylon Webb, and offensive lineman Mitch Morse.

Golden posted 8.5 sacks, 16 tackles for loss, and 68 total tackles this season, giving Mizzou the best defensive end combo in the country.

Sasser led the receiving corps with 70 passes for 935 yards and 10 touchdowns this season.

Webb played a critical role in Mizzou’s secondary, finishing the season with four interceptions, three pass breakups, a fumble recovery, and 69 tackles.

Morse started all 13 games for the Tigers this season and led the offensive line as a team captain.

See the six all-conference selections and the rest of the Mizzou Football Family take the field on New Year’s Day when Mizzou Football takes on Minnesota in the 2014 Citrus Bowl. Tickets are currently available online, and Mizzou Football will post live updates on TwitterInstagram, and Facebook throughout the game.