Boehm, Murphy and Golden Named to Preseason Watch Lists

Three Mizzou Made players were named to watch lists for prestigious national awards Monday.

Evan Boehm

Mizzou Tiger Evan BoehmMizzou Football starting center Evan Boehm was named to the 2014 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List.  The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding center in college football.

Boehm is one of 66 centers to be named to the list.

Boehm has been a key figure on the Mizzou Football team since he joined the program in 2012. Last season, he started all 14 games and his work on the line helped Mizzou become the second most potent rushing team (237.9 yards per game) in the Southeastern Conference. Boehm’s past honors include the 2012 team freshman of the year and 2012 1st-Team Freshman All-American (College Football News).

View the full Rimington watch list here, and check out Evan Boehm in the Zou Unit, a behind-the-scenes look at different parts of Mizzou Football.

Markus Golden

Markus Golden Mizzou FootballSenior defensive end Markus Golden was named to the 20th Annual Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List. The Bednarik Award is given to the college defensive player of the year.

Golden is fresh off an outstanding 2013-14 season with the Tigers. He recorded a team-high 55 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, 6.5 sacks and two recovered fumbles. He was also named the SEC Conference’s defensive lineman of the week on September 7, 2013.

View the full watch list for the Bednarik award here.


Marcus Murphy

Murphy, MarcusSenior running back Marcus Murphy was named to the 2014 Paul Hornung Award Watch List. The Louisville Sports Commission gives the Hornung award to the most versatile player in college football.

Murphy was one of the Tigers’ best offensive weapons last season. He racked up 1,425 all-purpose yards, nine rushing touchdowns and one receiving touchdown. His 3,191 career all-purpose yards ranks eighth all-time for Mizzou.

View the full watch list for the Hornung award here.

Watch Boehm, Golden and Murphy kick off this year in the season opener against South Dakota State on August 30 at The Zou.